Reviews

Great stay - Rating 5/5

Sehr nette Gastgeber und super Lage

Response

Dear Roy.Thank you for the kind feedback on your stay with us .I\'m so pleased that everything was just as you would have wanted it to be.It\'s great to know that The Sycamore was such a great base for you to explore our fantastic city.It was lovely to meet you both and we hope you\'ll be back to see us again..Best regards,Elizabeth.

Reviewer:Jurgen R | Wed 30th Oct 2019 | 1 day ago


Great place to stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely bed and breakfast. Well situated and with all of the amenities for a weary traveler.Clean and quiet, great breakfast and lots of friendly conversation.

Response

Dear David.We\'re happy to know that you felt so comfortable and well looked after on your recent visit.We\'re certainly very fortunate to have a location that is so close to everythingand yet tucked away in a quiet corner.We also look forward to your future visits and hope you\'ll be able to come back soon.Best regards,Elizabeth.

Reviewer:David G | Wed 30th Oct 2019 | 1 day ago


Great stay at the Sycamore Guest House- Rating 5/5

Spyros &Elizabeth are wonderful hosts. The Guesthouse is a delightful example of an Edwardian home and is in a great location with easy walking to the centre of York and its main attractions. Thanks for a great stay!

Response

Dear Rick.Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how much youenjoyed your stay with us at the Sycamore.It\'s lovely to read that you felt so well looked after.As I hope you could tell, we love having people to stay and enjoy seeingour guests have such a great time in our amazing city.Best regards,Elizabeth.

Reviewer:Rick M | Fri 25th Oct 2019 | 6 days ago


Yes, yes, yes. - Rating 5/5

Made very welcome, excellent hosts.Room and bathroom were clean and warm. Breakfast cooked to order each day, delicious. Easy to walk into city centre. I wouldn't hesitate to book here again.

Response

Dear Kate.Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how much youenjoyed your stay with us at the Sycamore.It\'s lovely to read that you felt so well looked after.As I hope you could tell, we love having people to stay and enjoy seeingour guests have such a great time in our amazing city.Best regards,Elizabeth.

Reviewer:Kate H | Tue 22nd Oct 2019 | 1 week ago


Sycamore - Rating 4/5

Great location, lovely couple who made us feel very welcome, rooms are spotless &plenty to eat for breakfast.

Response

Dear Jackie.Thank you for your review.We appreciate you taking the time.Looking forward to see you again sometime in the future.Best regards,Elizabeth.

Reviewer:Mrs Jackie A | Tue 15th Oct 2019 | 2 weeks ago


Sycamore Guest House - Rating 5/5

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left everything was excellent.Elizabeth and her husband were most attentive

Response

Dear Andrew,Thank you for the kind feedback on your stay with us .I\'m so pleased that everything was just as you would have wanted it to be.It\'s great to know that The Sycamore was such a great base for you to explore our fantastic city.It was lovely to meet you both and we hope you\'ll be back to see us again..Best regards,Elizabeth.

Reviewer:Andrew B | Sat 28th Sep 2019 | 1 month ago


Lovely hosts and location- Rating 4/5

Excellent location 5 minutes walk to town with parking. Funny and welcoming owners and catered to me being vegan. Nice room and good breakfast and value for money. A few additional touches would havd made it perfect, a bath sheet each as the towels on the small side, complimentary bottle of water in room and fruit tea. And fruit salad would have been lovely instead of a piece of fruit too crunchy to eat in front of other people at breakfast. Otherwise fab hosts and location and would stay again.

Response

Dear Melida.Thank you.We appreciate your taking time to write a review.It means a lot to us.We enjoyed having you stay with us and hope to see you again.Best regards,Elizabeth.

Reviewer:MELIDA I | Mon 9th Sep 2019 | 1 month ago


Weekend break - Rating 4/5

Lovely short stay breakfast really good the host's very welcoming and friendly and the service was second to none will be back

Response

Dear Liz.Thank you for your review.We appreciate you taking the time.Looking forward to see you again sometime in the future.Best regards,Elizabeth.

Reviewer:Liz V | Mon 9th Sep 2019 | 1 month ago


B&B - Rating 5/5

Nice and friendly and close to everything you need in York

Response

Dear Mr. Hilton.Thank you for the kind feedback on your stay with us .I\'m so pleased that everything was just as you would have wanted it to be.It\'s great to know that The Sycamore was such a great base for you to explore our fantastic city.It was lovely to meet you both and we hope you\'ll be back to see us again..Best regards,Elizabeth.

Reviewer:Phil h | Sat 31st Aug 2019 | 2 months ago


Just Lovely - Rating 4/5

Everything about it was as expected. Gracious hosts, pretty room and good home made food.

Response

Dear Lenore.Thank you for your review.We appreciate you taking the time.Looking forward to see you again sometime in the future.Best regards,Elizabeth.

Reviewer:Lenore G | Sun 25th Aug 2019 | 2 months ago


Excellent Hospitality- Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed our stay here. The hosts are so lovely and really made us feel welcome. Very clean and comfortable!

Response

Dear Michele.Thank you.We appreciate your taking time to write a review.It means a lot to us.We enjoyed having you stay with us and hope to see you again.Best regards,Elizabeth.

Reviewer:Michele T | Fri 16th Aug 2019 | 2 months ago


11 August 2019 - Rating 5/5

Close to town and York Minster.Parking permit provided so we were able to park on the property.Elizabeth was very helpful and assisted us up the stairs and provided directions to the various attractions.Breakfast was very good and hearty.Enjoyed our stay and would recommend.

Response

Dear Richard.Thank you for the kind feedback on your stay with us .I\'m so pleased that everything was just as you would have wanted it to be.It\'s great to know that The Sycamore was such a great base for you to explore our fantastic city.It was lovely to meet you both and we hope you\'ll be back to see us again..Best regards,Elizabeth.

Reviewer:Richard F | Thu 15th Aug 2019 | 2 months ago


great- Rating 5/5

Warmly and professional service provied by the owners,and location is great.however, I will remind the tourist that if you travel by railway and arrived after 10:30,the google route is not available to pass.

Response

Dear Yongpeng Ling.Thank you, we appreciate your taking time to write a review.We enjoyed having you stay with us and hope to see you again.Best Regards,Elizabeth.

Reviewer:Yongpeng L | Sat 10th Aug 2019 | 2 months ago


Bon hébergement- Rating 4/5

Chambre un peu petite. Hébergement bien situé à quelques minutes à pied du centre. Bon petit-déjeuner.

Response

Dear Mr. Thomas.Thank you for your review.We appreciate you taking the time.Looking forward to see you again sometime in the future.Best regards,Elizabeth.

Reviewer:Philippe T | Fri 9th Aug 2019 | 2 months ago


We loved it - Rating 5/5

We feel very lucky to have found this B&B - friendly and helpful, generous breakfasts, good electric fan offered which helped re the heatwave - we had a very comfortable stay. And it was so easy to get to city centre, by various pleasant routes.

Response

Dear Harold.Thank you for the kind feedback on your stay with us .I\'m so pleased that everything was just as you would have wanted it to be.It\'s great to know that The Sycamore was such a great base for you to explore our fantastic city.It was lovely to meet you both and we hope you\'ll be back to see us again..Best regards,Elizabeth.

Reviewer:Harold M | Thu 1st Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


1 night stay - Rating 5/5

very pleasant couple who run the b/b nice room with a super kingsize bed great breakfast and parking for £2.00 brilliant.

Response

Dear Leslie.Thank you for your review.We appreciate you taking the time.Looking forward to see you again sometime in the future.Best regards,Elizabeth.

Reviewer:leslie r | Wed 31st Jul 2019 | 3 months ago


Wonderful - Rating 5/5

Many thanks for a well earned break. Your guest house is wonderful. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful. Thanks again. We look forward to meeting again soonLove Gillian &Lindsey (rm5)

Response

Dear Gillian and Lindsey.Thank you.We appreciate your taking time to write a review.It means a lot to us.We enjoyed having you stay with us and hope to see you again.Best regards,Elizabeth.

Reviewer:Gillian B | Wed 31st Jul 2019 | 3 months ago


Excellent guest house - Rating 5/5

Lovely hosts, excellent breakfast.The location was perfect for a central york stay.We stayed in small double as it was the only room left for our dates, but would have preferred a larger room, but that certainly wouldnt stop us from staying again.

Response

Dear Nathan.Thank you for the kind feedback on your stay with us .I\'m so pleased that everything was just as you would have wanted it to be.It\'s great to know that The Sycamore was such a great base for you to explore our fantastic city.It was lovely to meet you both and we hope you\'ll be back to see us again..Best regards,Elizabeth.

Reviewer:Nathan H | Tue 30th Jul 2019 | 3 months ago


Lovely B&B - Rating 5/5

I had a relaxing and comfortable stay. The bedroom was cozy and the breakfast delicious.

Response

Dear Stacy.Thank you.We appreciate your taking time to write a review.It means a lot to us.We enjoyed having you stay with us and hope to see you again.Best regards,Elizabeth.

Reviewer:Stacy Ann E | Mon 29th Jul 2019 | 3 months ago


Thank-you Elizabeth and Spiros - Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed our stay at Sycamore Guest House July 15 - 18, 2019. The king size bed was very comfortable. The full breakfast was more than adequate and delicious. The location was in walking distance to all of the main attractions in York. Our host Elizabeth took the time to answer any questions that we might have and this was very helpful.

Response

Dear Debra.Thank you for the kind feedback on your stay with us .I\'m so pleased that everything was just as you would have wanted it to be.It\'s great to know that The Sycamore was such a great base for you to explore our fantastic city.It was lovely to meet you both and we hope you\'ll be back to see us again..Best regards,Elizabeth.

Reviewer:Debra L | Mon 29th Jul 2019 | 3 months ago


Best place to stay in York - Rating 5/5

Excellent location, quiet, comfortable and really convenient to the places to visit in York.Our hosts were lovely and the hearty breakfast was a great start to the day.Thoroughly recommended.

Reviewer:Derek K | Fri 26th Jul 2019 | 3 months ago


Touring - Rating 4/5

Good handy place to stay.walking distance to every every where .Very nice friendly couple.Small rooms but okay for short stay

Reviewer:William H | Thu 18th Jul 2019 | 3 months ago


Very pleasant guest house close to all vicinity\'s - Rating 4/5

Guest house close to railway station and town,lovely walk either through museum park or along the river to get into the main town area. Very quaint and cosy.

Response

Dear Ms. Adams.Thank you, we appreciate your taking time to write a review.We enjoyed having you stay with us and hope to see you again.Best Regards,Elizabeth.

Reviewer:Vannessa A | Sat 13th Jul 2019 | 3 months ago


Ideal Holiday Stay - Rating 5/5

The Sycamore guest house is a perfect venue for anyone staying in York. Nice size room, comfy bed, lovely food and run by a charming couple &a 10 minute walk from the railway station

Response

Dear Michael.Thank you.We appreciate your taking time to write a review.It means a lot to us.We enjoyed having you stay with us and hope to see you again.Best regards,Elizabeth.

Reviewer:michael c | Sat 13th Jul 2019 | 3 months ago


2 day stay at Sycamore House - Rating 5/5

We were very satisfied with our stay;our hosts were very welcoming and the location was perfect- very near the Railway Museum and city centre. The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast very good. We would thoroughly recommend it.

Response

Dear Mrs. Jones.Thank you.We appreciate your taking time to write a review.It means a lot to us.We enjoyed having you stay with us and hope to see you again.Best regards,Elizabeth.

Reviewer:Janet J | Thu 11th Jul 2019 | 3 months ago


better experience- Rating 4/5

it is quite and nice place

Response

Dear Chun Wang.Thank you, we appreciate your taking time to write a review.We enjoyed having you stay with us and hope to see you again.Best Regards,Elizabeth.

Reviewer:chun W | Mon 1st Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


A nice B & B in York - Rating 5/5

Elizabeth &Spyros were great hosts, food was excellent, location was great, close to train station with parking for rental car right outside the house. Bed was not the most comfortable.

Response

Dear Mr.Croukshanks.Thank you for the kind feedback on your stay with us .I\'m so pleased that everything was just as you would have wanted it to be.It\'s great to know that The Sycamore was such a great base for you to explore our fantastic city.It was lovely to meet you both and we hope you\'ll be back to see us again..Best regards,Elizabeth.

Reviewer:J Doug C | Wed 26th Jun 2019 | 4 months ago


York - Rating 5/5

The Sycamore guest house is comforable and very welcoming. The breakfast was great and the greating from Stavros was wonderful great couple would definitly recommend.

Response

Dear Ms.Chambers.Thank you, we appreciate your taking time to write a review.We enjoyed having you stay with us and hope to see you again.Best Regards,Elizabeth.

Reviewer:Mrs Mary C | Sun 23rd Jun 2019 | 4 months ago


Highly recommended - Rating 5/5

Superb stay, very comfortable room, spotlessly clean every day, food very good and so much of it too!! Made to feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble.

Response

Dear Brenda.Thank you.We appreciate your taking time to write a review.It means a lot to us.We enjoyed having you stay with us and hope to see you again.Best regards,Elizabeth.

Reviewer:Brenda N | Fri 21st Jun 2019 | 4 months ago


Excellent Guest House - Rating 5/5

Gorgeous rooms, lovely people and excellent location.I will definitely stay at The Sycamore again.

Response

Dear Andrea.Thank you for the kind feedback on your stay with us .I\'m so pleased that everything was just as you would have wanted it to be.It\'s great to know that The Sycamore was such a great base for you to explore our fantastic city.It was lovely to meet you and your friendsand we hope you\'ll be back to see us again..Best regards,Elizabeth.

Reviewer:Andrea F | Wed 29th May 2019 | 5 months ago


Just lovely 😊 - Rating 5/5

The hosts were lovely. We stayed for two nights and the housekeeping was above what I would expect as our rokm was actually tidied not just cleaned. Both days the breakfast was lovely and they catered to my request for soya milk which was lovely.

Response

Dear Heather.Thank you for your great review, it was pleasing to hear how much you appreciated our hospitality.It is always a pleasure to serve such warm people as yourselves;we hope that you will make areturn visit next time you come to York.Best regards,Elizabeth.

Reviewer:Heather S | Wed 29th May 2019 | 5 months ago


York trip - Rating 4/5

Great location, clean comfortable room and great breakfast prepared bySpiros.Friendly, welcoming.B&B.

Response

Dear Maureen.Thank you for your review.We appreciate you taking the time.Looking forward to see you again sometime in the future.Best regards,Elizabeth.

Reviewer:Maureen P | Sun 26th May 2019 | 5 months ago


Took my Nan to York for her Birthday - Rating 5/5

My Nan and I took a trip to York for her birthday, and we stayed at the Sycamore Guest House for two nights. My Nan has trouble walking long distances, and so uses a wheelchair and a stick.Elizabeth and Spyro (I hope I have spelt this correctly) were so accomodating with our needs, they made us immediately welcome, helping with our bags and assisting me and my Nan to our room on the first floor.They were incredibly helpful, helping us find where we were going, looking things up for us and looking after us with a fabulous breakfast and great conversation each morning!Our room was clean and attractive, and we both had a comfortable sleep.The day we were leaving we struggled to get a taxi in time and so Elizabeth took us herself to the coach station! Outstanding service which was greatly appreciated.Would recommend the Sycamore Guest House and would certainly stay there again.Thank you for a lovely stay. Hope to meet again.Alex and Eva

Response

Guests like yourselves make hosting visitors such a pleasure!We enjoyed meeting you both and are so glad that you loved the city and your stay here.Warmest regards,Elizabeth & Spyros.

Reviewer:Alex B | Fri 24th May 2019 | 5 months ago


One our Favorite places on our trip - Rating 5/5

Great place to stay, nice and comfortable. Very close to the center of town which made it great for us, in that I didn't haveto drive. The hosts are very hospitable which made our visit very charming.

Response

Dear Eugene.Thank you.We appreciate your taking time to write a review.It means a lot to us.We enjoyed having you stay with us and hope to see you again.Best regards,Elizabeth.

Reviewer:Eugene A | Sat 18th May 2019 | 5 months ago


Very nice - Rating 5/5

Very pretty area near the old town.Easy to access and near restaurants.Nice breakfast. Very clean rooms and quiet

Response

Dear Bertha.Thank you for the kind feedback on your stay with us .I\'m so pleased that everything was just as you would have wanted it to be.It\'s great to know that The Sycamore was such a great base for you to explore our fantastic city.It was lovely to meet you both and we hope you\'ll be back to see us again..Best regards,Elizabeth.

Reviewer:Bertha S | Fri 17th May 2019 | 5 months ago


2 night stay - Rating 5/5

The hosts were so welcoming and provide an excellent service. The room was cleanand comfortable and the breakfast was amazing.I’d highly recommend staying at this hotel and would book in again for sure.

Response

Dear Rhys.Thank you for the kind feedback on your stay with us .I\\\'m so pleased that everything was just as you would have wanted it to be.It\\\'s great to know that The Sycamore was such a great base for you to explore our fantastic city.It was lovely to meet you both and we hope you\\\'ll be back to see us again..Best regards,Elizabeth.

Reviewer:Rhys A | Tue 30th Apr 2019 | 6 months ago


Amazing break - Rating 5/5

Meeting Elizabeth and Spyros was just the start of our break, they are both welcoming and fully dedicated in offering a proffesionalservice towards their guests.Both myself and my wife enjoyed every minute, breakfast was just right and you could have had more if you wanted.The room was cosy and the bed was so comfortable, we both thank Elizabeth and Spyros for all they dod

Response

Dear Paul and Kathleen.Thank you for the kind feedback on your stay with us .I\'m so pleased that everything was just as you would have wanted it to be.It\'s great to know that The Sycamore was such a great base for you to explore our fantastic city.It was lovely to meet you both and we hope you\'ll be back to see us again..Best regards,Elizabeth.

Reviewer:Mrand Mrs Paul and Kathleen V | Tue 23rd Apr 2019 | 6 months ago


Weekend away with mum - Rating 4/5

The owners were very friendly and welcoming. The breakfast was excellent

Response

Dear Stacey.Thank you, we appreciate your taking time to write a review.We enjoyed having you stay with us and hope to see you again.Best Regards,Elizabeth.

Reviewer:Stacey D | Mon 1st Apr 2019 | 7 months ago


Wonderful weekend stay- Rating 5/5

Highly recommend.Very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble.Cosy room and very comfortable bed.Perfect location just a few minutes walk from the centre.

Response

Dear Karen.Thank you for the kind feedback on your stay with us .I\'m so pleased that everything was just as you would have wanted it to be.It\'s great to know that The Sycamore was such a great base for you to explore our fantastic city.It was lovely to meet you both and we hope you\'ll be back to see us again..Best regards,Elizabeth.

Reviewer:Karen G | Tue 26th Feb 2019 | 8 months ago


Good location;lovely place to stay - Rating 4/5

Very enjoyable overnight stay. Owners very welcoming and good breakfast - lovely people. Room small and comfortable. Easy walk into city. Would stay there again.

Response

Dear Chris.Thank you.We appreciate your taking time to write a review.It means a lot to us.We enjoyed having you stay with us and hope to see you again.Best regards,Elizabeth.

Reviewer:Chris L | Mon 18th Feb 2019 | 8 months ago


An ideal base for exploring this lovely city - Rating 5/5

We stayed at the Sycamore Guest House during a long weekend trip to York. The hosts Elizabeth and Spiros were both absolutely lovely! So welcoming and kind, we immediately felt at home. The room was very comfortable and provided a warm base for our wintery explorations of the city. The home-made cooked breakfast in the morning is 100% worth waking up for and is perfectly timed for visitors wanting to make the most of their days in York. The location of the guest house is also ideal, an easy walk from the station, the walls, the museums, the minster and the shopping area. - Annelies and Mattias

Response

Dear Annelies and Mattias.Thank you for the kind feedback on your stay with us .I\'m so pleased that everything was just as you would have wanted it to be.It\'s great to know that The Sycamore was such a great base for you to explore our fantastic city.It was lovely to meet you both and we hope you\'ll be back to see us again..Best regards,Elizabeth.

Reviewer:Mattias B | Mon 28th Jan 2019 | 9 months ago


Excellent!- Rating 5/5

Warm &cosy with everything you need for a comfortable stay. Yummy breakfast and a pretty short walk into town via themuseum gardens or by the river. Fantastic hosts really lovely people.

Response

Dear Julie.Thank you for your great review, it was pleasing to hear how much you appreciated our hospitality.It is always a pleasure to serve people as yourselves;we hope that you will make areturn visit next time you come to York.Best regards,Elizabeth.

Reviewer:Julie S | Mon 28th Jan 2019 | 9 months ago


lovely guest house and hosts - Rating 5/5

stayed here overnight on saturday 19th jan room was lovely and cosy hosts were very welcoming and helpful. breakfast was includedwhich was very nice. would not hesitate to recommedn this to anyone

Response

Dear Margaret.Thank you.We appreciate your taking time to write a review.It means a lot to us.We enjoyed having you stay with us and hope to see you again.Best regards,Elizabeth.

Reviewer:Margaret H | Tue 22nd Jan 2019 | 9 months ago


All Ok:)- Rating 4/5

We have been greeted from the very first step we got to the B&B the owners are very welcoming making our stay very pleasant. The B&B is located in a walkable distanceto York city centre and the main atractions. The area is safe and quiet. Highly recommended.

Response

Dear Anna.Thank you for the kind feedback on your stay with us .I\'m so pleased that everything was just as you would have wanted it to be.It\'s great to know that The Sycamore was such a great base for you to explore our fantastic city.It was lovely to meet you both and we hope you\'ll be back to see us again..Best regards,Elizabeth.

Reviewer:Anna K | Mon 21st Jan 2019 | 9 months ago


Lovely stay- Rating 5/5

What a lovely stay we had. Lovely couple and so accommodating. Lovely breakfast.

Response

Dear Tracey.Thank you.We appreciate your taking time to write a review.It means a lot to us.We enjoyed having you stay with us and hope to see you again.Best regards,Elizabeth.

Reviewer:Tracey E | Mon 14th Jan 2019 | 9 months ago


Comfortable - Rating 4/5

Very comfortable stay nice and friendly very hearty breakfast parking ideal great location

Response

Dear Neil.Thank you.We appreciate your taking time to write a review.It means a lot to us.We enjoyed having you stay with us and hope to see you again.Best regards and a Very Happy New Year.Elizabeth.

Reviewer:Neil K | Wed 2nd Jan 2019 | 10 months ago


Amazing - Rating 5/5

This place is amazing, really local to central york, a lovely stroll along the river bank and your near all the pub, shops, and sites.The rooms were clean, and the hosts were lovely. Breakfast was great and filled you up for the day. Liked the sherry and mince pies at christmas.Would definitely stay here again.

Response

Dear Lucy Jayne.Thank you for the kind feedback on your stay with us .I\\\'m so pleased that everything was just as you would have wanted it to be.It\\\'s great to know that The Sycamore was such a great base for you to explore our fantastic city.It was lovely to meet you both and we hope you\\\'ll be back to see us again..Best regards and a Happy Christmas .Elizabeth.

Reviewer:LUCY JAYNE B | Fri 21st Dec 2018 | 10 months ago


Highly reecommend - Rating 5/5

Lovely guest house. Owners very friendly and couldn’t do enough for myself and my daughter. Beds were very comfortable and the breakfast was amazing. Very central and an easy walk to York Minster. Would highly recommend.

Response

Dear Olwen .Thank you for the kind feedback on your stay with us .I\'m so pleased that everything was just as you would have wanted it to be.It\'s great to know that The Sycamore was such a great base for you to explore our fantastic city.It was lovely to meet you both and we hope you\'ll be back to see us again..Best regards,Elizabeth.

Reviewer:Olwen g | Thu 13th Dec 2018 | 10 months ago


Great location and friendly atmosphere- Rating 5/5

Friendly atmosphere, made to feel very welcome on arrival.Rooms are comfortable, en-suite was a little claustrophobic, but well thought out and far better than having to share a bathroom!Breakfast one of the best i have had.Location is great, less than 10 minutes walk to the Minster.We will definitely stay again.

Response

Dear Paul.Thank you for the kind feedback on your stay with us .I\'m so pleased that everything was just as you would have wanted it to be.It\'s great to know that The Sycamore was such a great base for you to explore our fantastic city.It was lovely to meet you both and we hope you\'ll be back to see us again..Best Regards,Elizabeth.

Reviewer:Paul L | Tue 20th Nov 2018 | 11 months ago


Our stay in york - Rating 5/5

Very enjoyable stay very comfortable room and bed Great cooked breakfast. Hosts very pleasant

Response

Dear John.Thank you.We appreciate your taking time to write a review.It means a lot to us.We enjoyed having you stay with us and hope to see you again.Best regards,Elizabeth.

Reviewer:john c | Sat 10th Nov 2018 | 11 months ago


York city break- Rating 5/5

From start to finish the hosts Elizabeth &Spiros were extremely welcoming . The walk into the city along the river was fab . The rooms were spotless and the bed so comfy, they had thought of everything it was spot on. The food and drinks at breakfast were plentiful and tasty .We have stayed in York before but will definitely go back and stay at The Sycamore and will certainly recommend 10/10***** Thank you Elizabeth &SpirosBest wishes Sandra &George

Response

Dear Sandra.Thank you for your great review, it was pleasing to hear how much you appreciated our hospitality.It is always a pleasure to serve such warm people as yourselves;we hope that you will make areturn visit next time you come to York.Best regards,

Reviewer:Sandra A | Tue 6th Nov 2018 | 11 months ago


good location - Rating 4/5

Guest house located in a quiet cu-de-sac close to centre of York.Hosts very friendly and helpful would recommend for short break in York.

Response

Dear LLoyd.Thank you.We appreciate your taking time to write a review.It means a lot to us.We enjoyed having you stay with us and hope to see you again.Best regards,Elizabeth.

Reviewer:LLOYD H | Mon 29th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


A home from home! - Rating 5/5

Hospitable, friendly, clean with an amazing cooked breakfast

Response

Dear Lisa.Thank you.We appreciate your taking time to write a review.It means a lot to us.We enjoyed having you stay with us and hope to see you again.Best regards,Elizabeth.

Reviewer:Lisa-Jane T | Thu 25th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Thanks! - Rating 5/5

An excellent stay - thank you Elizabeth and Spiros! We'll be back.

Response

Lovely to hear James that your visit was a success!We look forward to hosting your next stay in York.

Reviewer:James S | Sat 22nd Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Excellent stay- Rating 5/5

My boyfriend and I had never been to York before and we chose the Sycamore for it’s location in relation to the city centre - it was a 5-10 minute walk which was perfect for us.As well as enjoying the city, the staff, Spyros and Elizabeth, were fantastic and always made sure we were happy with our stay.As well as their excellent customer service, they had excellent knowledge on what attractions to visit and how to get to the places and, the distance/timing it takes to get to each place.

Response

Dear Ellie.Thank you for the kind feedback on your stay with us .I\'m so pleased that everything was just as you would have wanted it to be.It\'s great to know that The Sycamore was such a great base for you to explore our fantastic city.It was lovely to meet you both and we hope you\'ll be back to see us again..All The best,Elizabeth

Reviewer:Ellie I | Wed 5th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Perfect! - Rating 5/5

A delightful stay. Family is friendly and welcoming. Rooms are cosy and have everything you need. Breakfast is huge and delicious. Location is perfect. Beautiful and very quiet, 10 minutes from centre through The Museum Gardens. Station is very close too. Highly recommended ... and we travel a lot!

Response

Dear Gary.Thank you for the kind feedback on your stay with us .I\'m so pleased that everything was just as you would have wanted it to be.It\'s great to know that The Sycamore was such a great base for you to explore our fantastic city.It was lovely to meet you both and we hope you\'ll be back to see us again..Best regards,Elizabeth.

Reviewer:Gary F | Sat 25th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


. - Rating 4/5

Loverly stay , comfy bed and tasty breakfast

Response

Dear Mr. Smith.Thank you for your review.We appreciate you taking the time.Looking forward to see you again sometime in the future.Best regards,Elizabeth.

Reviewer:Steve S | Tue 21st Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Excellent- Rating 4/5

Had a very comfortable stay here at the Sycamore.Bed very clean and comfy. Great location for walking in to the City. Breakfast delicious. Hosts were so welcoming and helpful. Tea &coffee in room was great. Will definitely be returning and would highly recommend.

Response

Dear Emma.Thank you.We appreciate your taking time to write a review.It means a lot to us.We enjoyed having you stay with us and hope to see you again.Best regards,Elizabeth.

Reviewer:Emma M | Mon 20th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Another very enjoyable stay - Rating 5/5

We have now stayed at Sycamore House lots of times and always enjoy our stay very much. Rooms are always lovely and the breakfast is delicious. Also in a great location with a short walk into the town through the park or along the river.We will definatly be returning soon.

Response

Dear Jennifer.Thank you for the kind feedback on your stay with us .I\\\'m so pleased that everything was just as you would have wanted it to be.It\\\'s great to know that The Sycamore was such a great base for you to explore our fantastic city.It is always lovely to see you both and we hope you\\\'ll be back to see us again..All the best,Elizabeth.

Reviewer:Jennifer H | Wed 15th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Home from home - Rating 5/5

We were made very welcome by our host Elizabeth. The room was very comfortable, with everything one needs on such a stay. Breakfast was very good and served in a very friendly athmosphere. The guesthouse is really just a short walk away from the city centre, so it was a perfect choice in every way. Thank you Elizabeth and Spiros!!!!!!!!!!!

Response

Dear Susanne,Thank you for your great review, it was pleasing to hear how much you appreciated our hospitality.It is always a pleasure to serve such warm people as yourselves;we hope that you will make areturn visit next time you come to York.Best regards,Elizabeth.

Reviewer:Susanne L | Mon 23rd Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Great location, friendly hosts - Rating 5/5

Sycamore Guest House is well situated in York and an easy walk from both the train station and to the city center. Breakfast is great and the hosts are friendly and helpful. Highly reommended.

Response

Dear Daniel.Thank you, we appreciate your taking time to write a review.We enjoyed having you stay with us and hope to see you again.Best regards,Elizabeth.

Reviewer:Daniel G | Mon 9th Oct 2017 | 2 years ago


Sycamore Guest House - Rating 5/5

Had a lovely 3 days in York, staying at the Sycamore Guest House. Had a lovely welcome, and the room was great, plenty of cupboard space, light and airy, with an en-suite bathroom. Breakfast was very good, and always served with a smile. I'd certainly stay here again.

Response

Dear Peter,Thank you, we appreciate your taking time to write a review.We enjoyed having you stay with us and hope to see you again.All the best ,Spyros and Elizabeth.

Reviewer:Peter B | Sat 30th Sep 2017 | 2 years ago


1 night stay - Rating 5/5

Had a great stay, room was clean and comfortable. Hosts were extremely helpful and accommodating, especially with regards to car parking. Would definitely recommend

Reviewer:Mr. Reece C | Fri 19th May 2017 | 2 years ago


Mr George Swan - Rating 5/5

This is the third time at the sycamore its a clean and peaceful guest house the owners can't do enough for you and we can recommend it if you require a quiet bed &breakfast this is the one for you.

Response

Dear Mr. And Mrs.Swan.It is always a pleasure to have you staying with us.We thank you for your comments and the recommendations.Have a lovely Christmas.Elizabeth and Spyros.

Reviewer:Mr. George S | Tue 20th Dec 2016 | 2 years ago


Relaxing stay - Rating 5/5

Stopped for a long weekend while visiting York.Easy walk into York nice and peaceful stay.Excellent breakfastWill visit again many thanks

Response

Dear Mr.Mark Cassidy.Thank you for your lovely comments .We\'re delighted that the Sycamore provided you with such an ideal base and that you enjoyed our hospitality.I do hope you will have the opportunity to come to see some more of York and to stay with us again.

Reviewer:Mr. Mark Cassidy| Mon 5th Dec 2016 | 2 years ago


Peaceful - Rating 4/5

Perfect safe/quiet location for a pleasant 10 min walk into central York, local street parking. Been using Sycamores for quite a number of years, value for money and breakfasts that are memorable, strongly recommended. Elizabeth &Spyros are warm and welcoming

Reviewer:Mr. Allan D | Fri 7th Oct 2016 | 3 years ago


Hadrian!Rocky! - Rating 4/5

Wonderfully located near center York.Delightful proprietors.Bathrooms were a little cozy.

Reviewer:Mr. Brent H | Mon 6th Jun 2016 | 3 years ago


We stayed for five days......... - Rating 5/5

.........and we had nice days, good food, helpand service with heartly smiles.This is the third time we have stayed in the clean and cosy Sycamore House.And we hope to come back again !

Reviewer:Mrs. Anne Margrete W | Fri 13th May 2016 | 3 years ago


excellent base for York and surroundings - Rating 5/5

Warm welcome. Excellent friendly service.Easy walk into the centre of York (10 minues) and easy route out of York on A19 to ring road and beyond.

Reviewer:Dr. John W | Tue 3rd May 2016 | 3 years ago


Lovely - Rating 5/5

Can't fault,ten mins walk into York.

Reviewer:Mr. Paul Reynolds| Wed 30th Mar 2016 | 3 years ago


Book Online


Our Facilities

  • Credit card
  • Parking facilities
  • Family rooms
  • City centre
  • Internet services
  • Wifi
  • Gay friendly
  • Vegetarian
  • City breaks

Contact Details

Sycamore Guest House
19 Sycamore Place
York
Bootham
Yorkshire
YO30 7DW